Rough Diamond (1977)

After being sacked from Uriah Heep, David Byron formed Rough Diamond with Clem Clempson (ex-Colosseum, ex-Humble Pie) and Geoff Britton (ex-Wings). The band recorded the album of the same name, which was released in the first half of 1977 by Island Records (ILPS 9490). The recording sessions took place in December 1976 and January 1977 at Olympic Studios and Basing Street Studios. To learn more about Rough Diamond, please read “Diamonds are forever!” (Melody Maker, 1977).

Track list:

  1. Rock` n` Roll (Byron/Britton/Rushent) 3:28
  2. Lookin` For You (Byron/Clempson/Butcher) 4:06
  3. Lock & Key (Byron/Clempson) 4:59
  4. Seasong (Byron/Clempson) 7:35
  5. By The Horn (Byron/Clempson) 3:13
  6. Scared (Byron/Clempson/Britton/Butcher/Bath) 5:33
  7. Hobo (Byron/Clempson/Britton/Butcher/Bath) 5:45
  8. The Link (Instrumental) (Butcher) 2:19
  9. End Of The Line (Byron/Clempson/Britton/Butcher) 5:46


  • David Byron — vocals
  • Clem Clempson — guitars
  • Damon Butcher — keyboards
  • Willie Bath — bass guitar
  • Geoff Britton — drums

Producers: Steve Smith, David Byron and Clem Clempson.

Engineers: Phill Brown (Olympic) Richard Digby Smith and
Dave Hutchins (Basing St. Studios).
Photos: Clive Arrowsmith.
Cover Design: Eckford/Stimpson.

Read album reviews in the Reviews section.

Author: Elena Stepanova

This post is also available in: Russian

, , , No Comment

Leave a Reply