Uriah Heep — Demons and Wizards (1972)

The forth Uriah Heep’s album, “Demons and Wizards”, brought fame, money and fortune to the band. The album charted for 11 weeks in the UK (peaking at No. 20) and for 38 weeks in the USA (peaking at No. 23).*

Other countries were even more favourable to the album. “Demons and Wizards” reached No. 1 in Finland, No. 5 in Norway and the Netherlands, No. 12 in Italy, and No. 14 in Australia. It was the first Uriah Heep album that was certified gold in October 1972 by RIAA.

The new line-up included Gary Thain, who replaced Mark Clarke (who in his turn replaced Paul Newton for some months), and Lee Kerslake, formerly of The Gods. This line-up, considered now a “classic Uriah Heep”, was stable for three years and recorded four albums (1972–1974).

“Demons and Wizards” was so good that it was able to make music critics change their minds about Uriah Heep. Rolling Stone’s Mike Saunders wrote: “The vocals are psychedelic and quavering, the guitar and rhythm section is English heavy metal rock […] The first side of Demons and Wizards is simply odds-on the finest high energy workout of the year so far […] at this point Uriah Heep are shaping up into one hell of a first-rate modern rock band”. (Read the full review.)

The album was recorded in March and April 1972 at Lansdowne Studios and released by Bronze Records in May 1972.

Track list:

  1. The Wizard (Hensley/Clarke) 2:59
  2. Traveller In Time (Byron/Box/Kerslake) 3:26
  3. Easy Livin’ (Hensley) 2:36
  4. Poet’s Justice (Box/Kerslake/Hensley) 4:14
  5. Circle Of Hands (Hensley) 6:34
  6. Rainbow Demon (Hensley) 4:30
  7. All My Life (Box/Byron/Kerslake) 2:46
  8. Paradise (Hensley) 5:15
  9. The Spell (Hensley) 7:26


  • David Byron — vocals
  • Ken Hensley — keyboards, guitars, percussion
  • Mick Box — guitars
  • Lee Kerslake — drums and percussion
  • Gary Thain — bass guitar
  • Mark Clarke — bass guitar, vocals

Producer — Gerry Bron.

Engineer — Peter Gallen.

Assistant engineer — Ashley Howe.

Artwork — Roger Dean.

Bonus tracks on re-issue CDs:


  • Why (single version)
  • Why (extended version)
  • Home Again To You (previously unreleased)


  • Why (extended version)
  • Rainbow Demon (single version)
  • Proud Words On A Dusty Shelf (outtake)
  • Home Again To You (demo)
  • Green Eye (demo)

Original liner notes were written by Ken Hensley.

Read album reviews in the Reviews category.

* Charts stats according to davidbyron.net.

Author: Elena Stepanova

This post is also available in: Russian

, , , , , , , No Comment

Leave a Reply