Uriah Heep — Very ‘Eavy… Very ‘Umble (1970)

“Very ‘Eavy… Very ‘Umble” is the debut album of the band who started to work on it while still being called Spice and later turned to Uriah Heep, when David Byron, Mick Box and Paul Newton, the original members of Spice, were joined by Ken Hensley. The album was recorded during several studio sessions that took place between July 1969 and the beginning of 1970. The band recorded more songs that finally were released on their debut LP. To learn more about the sessions see Spice To Uriah Heep — The Transition.

“Very ‘Eavy… Very ‘Umble” did not chart in the UK. In the USA it reached a peak position at No. 186*. Music critics wrote harsh reviews about the album claiming that the band would never reach fame. The most harsh review that both the band and its fans still remember was penned by Melissa Mills from the Rolling Stone magazine: “If this band makes it, I’ll commit suicide!”

American version of Very ‘Eavy, Very ‘Umble (titled “Uriah Heep”)

Album covers of the British and American releases were different. American release was titled simply “Uriah Heep”. The song list was also different.

The album was released in June 1970 by Vertigo (later re-released by Bronze Records) in Europe and in September 1970 by Mercury in the USA. European release coincided with the band’s first German tour.

Track list:

  1. Gypsy (Box/Byron) 6:37
  2. Walking In Your Shadow (Newton/Byron) 4:31
  3. Come Away Melinda (Hallerman/Minkoff) 3:46
  4. Lucy Blues (Box/Byron) 5:09
  5. Dreammare (Newton) 4:39
  6. Real Turned On (Box/Byron) 3:37
  7. I’ll Keep On Trying (Box/Byron) 5:24
  8. Wake Up (Set Your Sights) (Box/Byron) 6:22


  • David Byron — vocals
  • Ken Hensley — organ, slide guitar, mellotron, piano, vocals
  • Mick Box — lead guitar, acoustic guitar, vocals
  • Paul Newton — bass guitar, vocals
  • Ollie Olsson — drums and percussion.
  • Alex Napier — drums (all tracks except Lucy Blues and Dreammare)
  • Colin Wood — keyboards on Come Away Melinda и Wake Up (Set Your Sights)

Bonus tracks on CD re-issues:


  • Gypsy (single version)
  • Come Away Melinda (previously unreleased)
  • Born In A Trunk (previously unreleased)


  • Bird Of Prey (US album version)
  • Born In A Trunk (previously unreleased)
  • Gypsy (extended version)
  • Wake Up (Set Your Sights) (previously unreleased)
  • Born In A Trunk (instrumental version)
  • Dreammare (BBC session)
  • Gypsy (BBC session)

Original liner notes were written by Ken Hensley.

Check album reviews.

* Charts stats according to davidbyron.net.

Author: Elena Stepanova

This post is also available in: Russian

, , , , , , , , , , No Comment

Leave a Reply