The Byron Band — On The Rocks (1981)

The Byron Band was formed by David Byron and Robin George. The band recorded one album, “On The Rocks”, which was released by Creole in 1981. The album was recorded at The Old Smithy and Highland Studios.

Creole also released two singles, “Every Inch Of The Way” and “Never Say Die”. “Every Inch Of The Way” exists in two versions, but they were not included in the original LP release. In 1993 Repertoire re-issued the album on CD with four bonus tracks, including both versions of the aforementioned song.

Track list:

  1. Rebecca (Byron/George) 4:01
  2. Bad Girl (Byron/George) 4:52
  3. How Do You Sleep (Byron/George) 6:09
  4. Little By Little (Byron/George) 3:54
  5. Start Believing (Byron/George) 4:04
  6. Never Say Die (Byron/George) 4:25
  7. King (Byron/George) 3:40
  8. Piece Of My Love (Byron/George) 6:47

Bonus tracks on the re-issue CD (1993):

  1. Every Inch Of The Way (Byron/Boone) 3:25 (single version)
  2. Routine (Byron/Boone) 3:52 (b-side of “Every Inch Of The Way”)
  3. Tired Eyes (Byron/George) 2:39 (b-side of “Rebecca”)
  4. Every Inch Of The Way (Byron/Boone) 4:58 (long version out-take, previously unreleased)


  • David Byron — vocals
  • Robin George — guitars
  • Mel Collins — saxophones
  • Bob Jackson — keyboards
  • Roger Flavelle — bass guitar
  • John Shearer — drums and percussion

Backing vocals — The Powder Puffs

Bass Guitar on ‘Little By Little’ by Robin George.
Engineered by: David Baker.
Mixed by: Robin George, David Baker and David Byron.
Produced and Arranged by: Robin George.
Executive Producer: David Byron.
Mastered by: Melvyn Abrahams (Strawberry Mastering Ltd.).
Cover Design: Lon Goddard (Thanks Simon).

Pino Paladino (bass), Pete Thompson (drums) and David Ball (guitars, vocals) took part in the singles recording sessions but were not credited on the album release.

Author: Cyberhippie

This post is also available in: Russian

, , No Comment