Uriah Heep — Salisbury (1971)

Uriah-Heep-—-SalisburyUK-298x300-150x150Uriah Heep’s second album, “Salisbury”, was recorded between October and November at Lansdowne Studios, London, and released in February 1971 by Vertigo (later re-released by Bronze Records). Musically the album was more multifaceted than the previous one. Ken Hensley wrote three songs and co-wrote the rest of the tracks, including the “Salisbury” suite. He also sang lead vocals on two tracks, “Lady In Black” and “High Priestess”.

The title track, “Salisbury”, is a 16-minute piece for the band and the orchestra. Orchestral arrangement was written by John Fiddy. The UK version of the album included “Bird of Prey” which was a different mix than the one already published on the American version of Uriah Heep’s first album, “Very ‘Eavy… Very ‘Umble”.

The American version of the album again had a different track list. The opening track was replaced by “High Priestess”, and the side B opened with “Simon The Bullet Freak”, which was not included on the UK version.

American version of “Salisbury” LP

Track list (UK release):

  1. Bird Of Prey  (Box/Byron/Hensley/Newton) 4:05
  2. The Park (Hensley) 5:38
  3. Time To Live (Box/Byron/Hensley) 4:02
  4. Lady In Black (Hensley) 4:33
  5. High Priestess (Hensley) 3:39
  6. Salisbury (Box/Byron/Hensley) 16:02


  • David Byron — vocals
  • Ken Hensley — organ, piano, slide guitar, acoustic guitar, harpsichord, back vocals, vocals
  • Mick Box — lead guitar, acoustic guitar, vocals
  • Paul Newton — bass guitar, vocals
  • Keith Baker — drums

Producer — Gerry Bron (Hit Records Productions).

Recording and mixing engineer — Peter Gallen.

Tape operators — Ashley Howe and Les Cunningham.

Bonus tracks on CD re-issues:


  • Simon The Bullet Freak
  • High Priestess (single edit)


  • Simon The Bullet Freak (US album version)
  • Here Am I (unreleased version)
  • Lady In Black (unreleased version)
  • High Priestess (single edit)
  • Salisbury (single edit)
  • The Park (edit)
  • Time To Live (edit)

Original liner notes were written by Ken Hensley.

Author: Elena Stepanova

This post is also available in: Russian

, , , , , , 1 Comment
Comments To This Entry
  1. Read Igor Shveytser’s review here http://www.david-byron.ru/uriah-heep-salisbury-review/?lang=en

    1000tracks on 08/09/2012 Reply

Leave a Reply